State tightens border over Sydney cases

Already, anyone who has been in Waverley Council area or a Covid-19 exposure site is not allowed to enter SA.“Restrictions continue to apply to arrivals into South Australia who have been at a NSW Covid-19 case location or Waverley Council area in the 14 days prior to their arrival,” a SA Police statement read.From midnight on Tuesday, the SA government will also tighten rules on passengers arriving from Sydney’s local government areas of Randwick City, Bayside, City of Canada Bay, Inner West, City of Sydney and Woollahra Municipal Council.The restrictions will apply to people who have been in any of those LGAs at any time during the past 14 days (but not before June 11, 2021) who arrive after midnight.It will not apply to travellers who arrive before midnight. After midnight, all travellers from those LGAs will be subject to level 3 requirements:Get a COVID-19 test on days one, five and 13Self-quarantine until the first COVID-19 test has been undertaken (do not need to wait for the test result)No entry into high-risk setting for 14 days after arrival unless clause 9 appliesNo entry to Covid management plan events where more than 1000 are likely to attendHowever, essential travellers and permitted arrivals – including returning SA residents, people relocating and people escaping domestic violence – will be allowed to enter SA but will need to follow the level 3 requirements.SA Premier Steven Marshall said authorities had to make the changes “in response to the situation that‘s unfolding in NSW”.“We do that to keep South Australia protected. We’re enjoying a quality of life and a strong economy, the likes of which many other parts of the world are hugely envious of at the moment,” he said on Monday.

Powered by WPeMatico

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular

To Top